American Speedway  

2003 Costa Mesa Speedway
Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2003 California Results Page

Costa Mesa Speedway
Orange County Fairgrounds
Costa Mesa, California

Skirt Night
Costa Mesa Speedway
August 23, 2003
From Ryan Evans 2003 Costa Mesa Results

Former National Champion "Flyin'" Mike Faria extended his Scratch Main winning streak to six and Shaun Harmatiuk won his third straight Handicap Main at Costa Mesa Saturday.

Faria was forced to qualify for the main event via the Last Chance, but that didn't curb his determination. Faria was first out of the gate and immediately went to the inside line in turn one. The Scratch Main was without drama from that point as Faria ran away with an easy win to maintain his winning streak. Gary Hicks finished second, Dukie Ermolenko was third, Scott Brant was fourth, and Bobby Schwartz was fifth after suffering an engine failure.

Before the tapes went up for the Handicap Main, Bryan Yarrow and Randy DiFrancesco were penalized 20 yards for rolling the start. Danny Perkins took the lead from his 10 yard handicap at the beginning of the eight-lap race. Perkins fought off the challenges of Justin Boyle and Shaun Harmatiuk for four laps before they went by on the front straight. The two younger riders clashed moments later, went down, and brought out the red flag. Boyle was deemed the cause of the stoppage and was penalized for the restart.

Harmatiuk lined up at the front of the field for the restart, but was forced to use his second machine. The 20 year old rider faced heavy pressure from Andy Northrup and it appeared as though he would succumb on the last lap. Despite some contact in the final 30 yards, Harmatiuk was able to hold on to the victory. Northrup had to settle for second, Brant was third, Bryan Yarrow finished fourth, and Boyle was fifth.

Rudy Laurer got the best start in the Support Main and was well on his way to victory when the battle for second aborted the race. Billy Braden was battling Scott Tidwell when he lifted exiting turn four and took out himself and his Eagle Welding Racing teammate and halting the race. Laurer jumped into the lead again on the restart and held off Tidwell for the victory. Randy Kreps was third, Braden finished fourth, and Chris Metoyer was fifth.

Jim Lavender was the early leader in the Support B Main, but Joel Kath passed him on the back straight to take over. Mike McCarthy chased Kath the rest of the way, but it was Kath who was first to the checkered flag for his first main event win at Costa Mesa. Carl Gazafy was third, Monte McKeon finished fourth, Lavender was fifth, and Nathan Smelser finished sixth.

The nine youth riders on the program comprised the largest youth field at Costa Mesa in a decade and is a positive sign for the future of the youth program and for Southern California speedway in general. Due to the number of riders the field was split into two divisions. Interestingly, eight of the nine riders were second-generation speedway riders. Making their Costa Mesa debuts were Ryan and Cody Brant, the sons of Costa Mesa points leader Scott Brant, as well as Ricky Valdez, son of Rick Valdez. The Brant Brothers also had their uncle, former two-time National Champion Steve Lucero, serving as their mechanic.

In the Youth First Division Main Event, Jason Ramirez jumped into the lead but slid off in turn two. This gave the lead to Dario Galvin who held it for two laps before being taken down by Skyler Greyson in turn one. Greyson was penalized on the restart. Ramirez made the best start again and changed his fate by riding four smooth laps to earn the victory. Greyson finished second, Galvin was third, and Dylan Stark finished fourth.

The Youth Second Division Main Event was dominated by Tyler Odom. Odom led all four laps to capture the victory. Tamara Krips was second, Valdez was third, Cody Brant was fourth, and Ryan Brant finished fifth.
There will not be racing at Costa Mesa the next two Saturdays. Speedway returns to the world famous bullring on Saturday, September 13 for Orange County Harley Davidson Night. In addition to the regular program, there will be the wildly popular Harley races.

Support B Consolation
124 - Mitch Melott                	10   
100 - Phil Harmatiuk             	20
169 - Dan Wensloff               	10
193 - Billy Swaim                 	10
223 - Fred Schmitthammer     10
115 - Mark Baldwin               	10   (non starter)

Support B Consolation
198 - Mike Boyle                  	20
212 - Steve Dziadus                   20
244 - DeWayne Stark               20
227 - Mark Robertson                    20
136 - Kim Stevens                	10
194 - Tony Bracy                  	20   (non starter)

Support B Main Event
184 - Joel Kath                     	10
113 - Mike McCarthy                     20
176 - Carl Gazafy                 	20
107 - Monte McKeon                     20
102 - Jim Lavender                	10
188 - Nathan Smelser             10   (fell)

Support Consolation
180 - Malcolm Roe
164 - Rusty Hall
178 - Eloy Medellin
269 - Ed Martinez     (fell, remounted)

Support Consolation
138 - Rich Brock
389 - Nate Perkins
185 - Keith Mullally      	(fell)
228 - Shane Kump                (fell)
181 - Michael Novratil          (retired)

Support Main Event
182 - Rudy Laurer
118 - Scott Tidwell
165 - Randy Kreps
117 - Billy Braden   (penalty line)
148 - Chris Metoyer  (fell, remounted)

Youth Second Division Main Event
146 - Tyler Odom
223 - Tamara Krips
  5 - Ricky Valdez
 10 - Cody Brant
 56 - Ryan Brant (retired)

Youth First Division Main Event
 66 - Jason Ramirez
  2 - Skyler Greyson (penalty line)
145 - Dario Galvin
 19 - Dylan Stark

Handicap Main Event
139 - Shaun Harmatiuk               	30
166 - Andy Northrup                     40
 10 - Scott Brant                      60
  8n - Bryan Yarrow                    30  (penalty line)
197 - Justin Boyle                     20
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco            	30  (penalty line)
 89 - Danny Perkins                   	10
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko                	40

Last Chance
  9 - Mike Faria
  8n - Bryan Yarrow
 10 - Scott Brant
166 - Andy Northrup

Scratch Main Event
  9 - Mike Faria
  3 - Gary Hicks
 15 - Dukie Ermolenko
 12 - Randy DiFrancesco
 11 - Bobby Schwartz     (engine failure)
www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.