American Speedway  

2015 Ventura Raceway
Speedway Race Results

All Speedway Race Results

2015 California Results

Ventura Raceway
West Harbor Blvd
Ventura, California

Ventura Speedway
Sep 19, 2015 - Ventura Raceway
From Steve Evans
Photos: Paul Flanders

Results from Ventura Raceway and are Continued Below...

  Paul Flanders Photos  
2015 Ventura Raceway 2015 Ventura Raceway 2015 Ventura Raceway
Gage Geist won both the first division main and the upright/vintage class main. Ron Davis won the support class main. Sebastian Palmese won the 250cc Junior main, Dakota Shockley took the trophy for the Mini speedway 150cc class. Sponsor Randy Eason supports them both.
2015 Ventura Raceway 2015 Ventura Raceway 2015 Ventura Raceway
Auzzie Shane Hudson piloted a borrowed Joe Jones rig to victory in the sidecars. Fast Eddie Castro came off the chemo lounge chair to get a little exercise by taking a couple of laps. Wade Whitcomb and son Luke Whitcomb got in some great rides.
2015 Ventura Raceway 2015 Ventura Raceway 2015 Ventura Raceway
Brad Pitt (not the one married to Angelina Jolie) was the sidecar passenger for Hudson. Ryan Brant assisted Tori Geist in providing a Live Stream internet broadcast of the event from her smart phone. Sara Cords came off the disabled list from a broken wrist to ride well.

September 19, 2015 - Ventura Raceway, California, by Steve Evans

The 'endless summer' wrapped up at Ventura with Speedway bikes taking up 32 heats of the show which also featured Flat Track racing.

Division 1 two 16 year olds leading the way, impressing with their big track skills. Kurtis Hamill was very fast and steady and  took two of the three heats but a bad gate and infield excursion cost him in the final, with Gage Geist winning, after also taking the second heat. Seventeen year old Dryden Gayle was much on the pace and placed second in the final.

The Vintage class had 9 entries – Gage Geist was in a class of his own, adding the vintage title to Division 1. There was much close racing in this division including a race to the line in the Main for 2nd, where Dan Waller pipped Malcolm Roe.

Ron Davis won the Support Class Main. Sebastian Palmese won all four 250 races including a last lap pass on Sara Cords in heat 2. Palmese looked very fast and comfortable on the big track. Dakota Shockley won all 4 150 races, held on a smaller infield track, but the main was the race of the night, a photo finish after he and Luke Whitcomb traded the lead multiple times.

The sidecars put on a fantastic show with Australians Shan Hudson and Brad Pitt using their big track experience to keep National Champions Joe Jones and Tom Summers in second.

The highlight of the evening however was what was meant to be a parade lap by Eddie Castro (who is mid intensive cancer treatments) ahead of the vintage Main event which turned into 3 laps at full speed! Given the regard Eddie is held with American Speedway, this was quite an exhilarating and emotional moment for all in attendance.

This was the final of 5 events held at Ventura this year. Four of the events ran combined with Flat Track, with the AMA National Championship Round 2 being the highlight. Given the steady growth and increased popularity of the other events, it is likely Ventura will continue to grow for Speedway in 2016, which is good news, given the tracks similarity to European venues.

1st Division
10 Gage Geist
273 Dryden Gayle
141 Mike Lane
140 Kurtis Hamill (retired)
Heat winners: Hamill (2), Geist

Support West Coast Championship
163 Ron Davis
558 Brandon Watters
227 Wade Whitcomb
217 Thomas Rishton
266 Jonni Jade (non starter)
Heat winners: Watters (2), Davis

Vintage West Coast Championship
10 Gage Geist
240 Dan Waller
180 Malcolm Roe
558 Brandon Watters
254 Chris Mistretta (excluded)

Last Chance
558 Brandon Watters
55 Ron Brankov
27 Bob Waller
9 Dave Tice
33 Johnny Costarella

Heat Winners – Geist (3), D Waller (2), Mistretta (1)

250 Junior
18 Sebastian Palmese
16 Jake Isaac
14 Sara Cords
Heat winners – Palmese (3)

150 Mini
419 Dakota Shockley
27 Luke Whitcomb
33 Glenn Geist

Heat winners – Shockley (3)

71 Shane Hudson / Brad Pitt
7x Joe Jones / Tom Summers
74 James Kinne / Dana Catone
1965 Jeff Rowe / Heather Gledhill

B Main
2 Bryan Motis / Cody Brant
31 Robert Curry / David Dent
33 Rick Garcia / Adam Duckett
101 Kevin Holman / Ryan O'Connor

Heats: Hudson / Pitt (2), Jones / Summers (2), Kinne / Catone (2)

www.speedwaybikes.com - All rights reserved.